Quick Answer: What Happens When You Delete Photos From Google Photos?

Where do permanently deleted photos go?

When you delete pictures on Android, you can access your Photos app and go into your albums, then, scroll to the bottom and tap on “Recently Deleted.” In that photo folder, you will find all the photos you have deleted within the last 30 days.

If it is more than 30 days old, your pictures will be permanently deleted..

Where do my photos go when I free up space on Google Photos?

When you tap on one, Google Photos will cache the backed up copy from the Google servers and display the photo or video. But since the photos and videos aren’t present locally, you can’t use any native Gallery apps in Android or the Photos app in iOS to view them.

What happens if I delete photos from Google Photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

How do you delete photos from Google photos without deleting from device?

Hi Greg, On your Android device, open the Google Photos app ….Once you’ve done that, you will be able to delete photos from Google Photos and it will not delete them from Google Drive.On your computer, go to photos.google.com.Place your cursor over items you want to move to trash. … At the top right, click Trash .More items…•

Will I lose my photos if I uninstall Google Photos?

If you use the Google Photos app as a gallery app to view your photos and you didn’t enable the Back up and sync setting, then uninstalling it will not have any effect. That is, no photo will be deleted from your phone both on Android and iPhone after removing the app.

Why can’t I delete photos from Google Photos?

To delete individual photos from my google photos app. … (Instructions from a Google Photos expert on how to do this at this link: Clear Cache and Data.) Alternatively if your phone permits it, try uninstalling and reinstalling the Google App (re-associating the App with your Account on re-install).

Can anyone see my Google Photos?

all the photos and videos you store in Google Photos are private and visible only to you unless you intentionally share any. You can check which albums or photos you may have shared by reviewing the Shared screen of the Google Photos app or visiting the corresponding page photos.google.com/shared of the website.

How do I permanently delete photos from Google Photos?

To permanently delete photos and videos:On your computer, go to the trash.Point at the item you want to permanently delete. At the top left, click Select .At the top right, click Delete permanently Delete.

Do photos stay on Google photos if deleted from phone?

Open the Google Photos app on your Android phone. Tap on Free up device space from the side menu, and then tap on Free up button to remove those photos from your device. The deleted photos will still be present in Google Photos.

Is Google photos better than iCloud?

However, Google Photos has a major advantage over iCloud as it lets you upload an unlimited number of images. For that, you will have to go with the High-Quality setting instead of Original Quality when asked how you want to upload. The catch is that your photos are compressed to 16MP and videos to 1080p.

Can I disable Google Photos?

How can i do it how i want? At the current time, there is no way to exclude picture files in DCIM folder (Android 8.1, Google Photo 3.25). The only option is to disable the sync feature which is not the point. … Unfortunately you cannot turn off sync for your camera folder but keep it on for other folders.

Do Google Photos stay forever?

Albums are not preserved, but at least the photos are safe for incidents in account A. The photos do not use storage in account B, even when “Original” size is used, unless they are deleted from account A.

How do you permanently delete photos?

To permanently delete an item from your device:On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Select the items you want to delete from your Android phone or tablet.In the top right, tap More Delete from device.

How do you delete photos from Google Drive permanently in phone?

You can send the file to your Google Drive trash folder and delete it from the trash to permanently remove it….You can permanently delete items from the trash easily.From inside the Google Drive app, tap the three-line menu at the top left of the app.Tap “Trash” from the menu that appears.More items…•

How do I clean up my Google Photos?

Delete local copies of your mediaFrom your photo gallery, swipe right from the leftmost side to open the side pane.Tap free up space.You’ll be taken to the app settings, with a pop-up window confirming the amount of storage you’ll free up and the number of items being deleted. Tap Free up x GB.

Does deleting photos from phone Delete from Google Photos?

You will still be able to view them any time in Google photos, it just means that you won’t have a copy stored on in your phone physically. To Free up space on your Android device: On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app . … To delete all the items from your phone, tap Free up.